Contact Us

Nova Southeastern University
Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanography
8000 North Ocean Drive
Dania Beach, FL 33004
(954) 262-3600

Faculty and Staff Profiles

Faculty

name and title phone email
Dodge, Richard E.
Professor and Dean, Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanography
Executive Director, National Coral Reef Institute
(954) 262-3651 dodge@nova.edu
Abayomi, Emilola
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-8315 eabayomi@nova.edu
Arena, Paul
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-8335 arenap@nova.edu
Armentrout, Bryan
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-8076 ba387@nova.edu
Aukszi, Beatrix
Associate Professor
(954) 262-7673 ba285@nova.edu
Baird, Donald
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8384 dbaird@nova.edu
Baldauf, Paul
Professor
(954) 262-7671 pb501@nova.edu
Ballester, Maria
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8178 mballest@nova.edu
Barry, Barker
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8303 barkerb@nova.edu
Blackwelder, Patricia L.
Associate Professor
(954) 262-3667 pblackwe@nova.edu
Blanar, Christopher
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8041 cblanar@nova.edu
Bourouihiya, Abdelkrim
Associate Professor
(954) 262-7996 ab1221@nova.edu
Carrera, Ricardo
Professor
(954) 262-8463 ricardo@nova.edu
Castana, Diego
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8328 castanod@nova.edu
Castro, Victor
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8309 castvict@nova.edu
D'Alessio, Naomi
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-8302 naomi@nova.edu
Eldakar, Omar 
Assistant Professor 
(954) 262-8087 oeldakar@nova.edu
Feingold, Joshua
Professor
(954) 262-8337 joshua@nova.edu
Figueiredo, Joana
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-3638 jfigueiredo@nova.edu
Fogarty, Nicole D.
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-3630 nicole.fogarty@nova.edu
Frank, Tamara
Associate Professor
(954) 262-3637 tfrank1@nova.edu
Gao, Song
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8388 sg1002@nova.edu
Gershman, Jason
Interim Chair- Department of Math
Associate Professor
(954) 262-7927 jgershma@nova.edu
Giarikos, Dimitrios
Professor
Lab Supervisor
(954) 262-8337 giarikos@nova.edu
Gilliam, David S.
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-3634 gilliam@nova.edu
Haskell, Evan
Professor
(954) 262-8164 haskell@nova.edu
He, Matthew
Assistant Dean
Professor
(954) 262-8310 hem@nova.edu
Hirons, Amy
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-7972 hirons@nova.edu
Hoch, Jeffery
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-7978 jhoch@nova.edu
Iberkleid, Wolf
Associate Professor
(954) 262-7993 wi12@nova.edu
Jaffe, Mark
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8083 mjaffe@nova.edu
Kautsch, Stefan
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-7969 skautsch@nova.edu
Kerstetter, David
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-3664 kerstett@nova.edu
Larrea, Michelle
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-8052 mlarrea@nova.edu
Lee, Edmond
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-8320 elee1@nova.edu
Lopez, Jose V.
Professor
(954) 262-3665 joslo@nova.edu
Lyons, Jeffrey
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-7931 jlyons@nova.edu
Messing, Charles G.
Professor
(954) 262-3658 messingc@nova.edu
Munoz, James
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-8070 jm2701@nova.edu
Nasserasr, Shahla
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-7973 snasserasr@nova.edu
Nemzer, Louis
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-7977 lnemzer@nova.edu
O'Brien, Stephen
Professor 
(954) 262-3591 sobrien1@nova.edu
Paksoy, Vehbi
Associate Professor
(954) 262-7995 vp80@nova.edu
Perotti, Jeremy
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-8321 perotti@nova.edu
Purkis, Samuel J.
Professor
(954) 262-3647 purkis@nova.edu
Raja, Aarti
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-7975 ar1239@nova.edu
Razeghifard, Reza
Interim Chair- Department of Chemistry & Physics
Associate Professor 
(954) 262-7930 razeghif@nova.edu
Riegl, Bernhard
Professor
Associate Director, National Coral Reef Institute
Interim Chair- Department of Marine and Environmental Sciences
(954) 262-3671 rieglb@nova.edu
Roopnarine, Deanne
Interim Associate Chair- Department of Biological Sciences
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8196 roopnari@nova.edu
Saleem, Mir
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8360 msaleem@nova.edu
Samansky, Eric
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8292 es794@nova.edu
Schmitt Lavin, Emily
Interim Chair- Department of Biology
Professor
(954) 262-8349 eschmitt@nova.edu
Shanbhag, Venkatesh
Professor
(954) 262-8331 shanbhag@nova.edu
Sherman, Robin
Associate Dean
Professor
(954) 262-8336 shermanr@nova.edu
Shivji, Mahmood
Professor, Director, Guy Harvey Research Institute
Director, Save Our Seas Shark Research Center
(954) 262-3653 mahmood@nova.edu
Smith, Robert
Assistant Professor
(954) 262-7979 rsmith@nova.edu
Soloviev, Alexander
Professor
(954) 262-3659 soloviev@nova.edu
Spieler, Richard E.
Professor
(954) 262-3613 spielerr@nova.edu
Stanculescu, Iuliana
Associate Professor
(954) 262-7994 js162@nova.edu
Sutton, Tracey
Associate Professor
(954) 262-3692 tsutton1@nova.edu
Tartar, Aurelien
Associate Professor
(954) 262-8148 aurelien@nova.edu
Thomas, James D.
Professor
(954) 262-3661 thomasjd@nova.edu

Torruellas Garcia, Julie
Associate Professor

(954) 262-8195 jg1511@nova.edu
Zhang, Fuzhen
Professor 
(954) 262-8317 zhang@nova.edu

Adjunct Faculty

name phone email
Banks, Ken (954) 262-3600 kennbank@nova.edu
Blackwelder, Brion (954) 262-6135 brionb@nova.edu
Brown, Eric (301) 503-0508 eb880@nova.edu
Caccia, Valentina (954) 262-3600 vcaccia@nova.edu
Dickinson, Elizabeth (954) 262-3621 ed503@nova.edu
Duncan, George (954) 831-6147 gduncan@nova.edu
Feingold, Joshua (954) 262-8307 joshua@nova.edu
Foster, Kristi (954) 262-3600 kfoster@nova.edu
Funicelli, Nick (954) 262-3600 nf189@nova.edu
Hardigan, Patrick (954) 262-1524 patrick@nova.edu
Hill, Heather (954) 262-3600 hhill@nova.edu
Hirons, Amy C. (954) 262-3620 hirons@nova.edu
Janpol, Henry (954) 262-3600 hjanpol@nova.edu
Jean, Yves (954) 262-3600 yjean@nova.edu
Mattern, Claudia (954) 262-3600 cmattern@nova.edu
Maul, Pilar (305) 628-6603 dmaul@nova.edu
McCorquodale, Donald (954) 262-3600 mccorq@nova.edu
Mercer, Becky (954) 262-3600 bm810@nova.edu
Moulding, Allison (954) 262-3600 moulding@nova.edu
Peters, Ester (954) 262-3600 epeters@nova.edu
Rose, Curt (954) 262-3600 crose1@nova.edu
Schmidt, Steffen (954) 262-3600 sschmidt@nova.edu
Self-Sullivan, Caryn (540) 287-8207 cs1733@nova.edu
Timme, Ruth (954) 262-3600 rtimme@nova.edu
Yentsch, Clarice (954) 262-3692 cy58@nova.edu
Wetherbee, Brad (401) 874-2335 wetherb@nova.edu

Research Scientists

name phone email
Bernard, Andrea (954) 262-3657 andrbern@nova.edu
Burkholder, Derek (954) 262-3673 dburkholder@nova.edu
Chiappone, Mark (954) 262-3600 mc191@nova.edu
Helmle, Kevin P. (954) 262-3656 kevinh@nova.edu
Johnston, Matt (954) 262-3641 johnmatt@nova.edu
Miller, Steven (305) 451-9030 smiller@nova.edu
Rutten, Leanne (954) 262-3600 lrutten@nova.edu
Saul, Steven (954) 262-3700 ssaul1@nova.edu
Testerman-Brueles, Christine (954) 262-3657 powaser@nova.edu
Vaudo, Jeremy (954) 262-3673 jvaudo@nova.edu
Walker, Brian K. (954) 262-3675 walkerb@nova.edu

Staff

name and title phone email
Aloi, Becky
Receptionist
(954) 262-3700 aloi@nova.edu
Nay, Caitlyn
Program Office Assistant
(954) 262-3614 imcs@nova.edu
Buskirk, Brian
Assistant Harbormaster
(954) 262-3662 buskirkj@nova.edu
Cook, April
Project/Database Manager
(654) 262-3733 acook1@nova.edu
Dore, Melissa L.
Director of Academic Support and Administration
(954) 262-3610 missy@nova.edu
Finley, Priscilla
Accounting Administrator
(954) 262-3612 pf230@nova.edu
Goldman, Jaime
Reference Librarian II
(954) 262-3681 hjaime@nova.edu
Oellrich, Peggy
Coordinator
(954) 262-3605 hess@nova.edu
Robinson, Lance
Harbormaster/Dive Program Director/Diving Safety Officer
(954) 262-3662 lancerob@nova.edu
Rogers, Mark
Administrative Assistant
(954) 262-3604 markroge@nova.edu
Schulte, Jonathan
Coordinator of Administration & Assessment 
(954) 262-3621 js3638@nova.edu
Slapak-Barski, Judith
Instructional Designer II
(954) 262-3639 js3060@nova.edu
Wood, Wendy
Assistant Director, Development/Coordinator of Administrative Operations, NCRI
(954) 262-3617 wendyw@nova.edu

Research Assistants

name and title lab phone email
Atwater, Kimberly
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3657 ka563@nova.edu
Barris, Brittnee
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 bb817@nova.edu
Bowen, Katie
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3657 imcs@nova.edu
Briggs, Sarah
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3689 sb1386@nova.edu
Burdett, Eric
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3633 eb895@nova.edu
Correia, Kathryn B
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 kc1256@nova.edu
Campbell, Alexandra
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3660 rc774@nova.edu
Costaregni, Amanda
Research Assistant
(954)-262-3694 ac1724@nova.edu
Chaves-Fonnegra, Andia
Post-Doctoral Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 ac1200@nova.edu
Cucinotta, Katelyn
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 kc1520@nova.edu
Cumming, Kristen
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 kc1261@nova.edu
D'Antonio, Nicole
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3640 nd404@nova.edu
Dean, Cayla
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3636 cd821@nova.edu
Espita-Hecht, Paola
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 espitiah@nova.edu
Fahy, Dan
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3670 fahyd@nova.edu
Fine, Charles
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3633 cf25@nova.edu
Fisco, Dana
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3694 df650@nova.edu
Fourney, Francesca
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 ff129@nova.edu
Fredrick, Joshua
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 jf1101@nova.edu
Garcia, Jazmin
Title V- Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 jg2288@nova.edu
Gardiner, Robert
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 rg876@nova.edu
Grasso, Peter
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3648 pgrasso@nova.edu
Grimes, Candace
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 cg1478@nova.edu
Harper, Leaah
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 lh1185@nova.edu
Jermain, Robert
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 rj469@nova.edu
Kabay, Lystina
Reserch Assistant
(954) 262-3640 lk518@nova.edu
Kerr, Jeremy
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3615 jk908@nova.edu
Kilfoyle, Kirk
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3676 kilfoyle@nova.edu
Klug, Katelyn
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3694 kk777@nova.edu
Kuba, Alyson
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 ak1012@nova.edu
Larson, Elizabeth
Senior Research Assistant
(954) 262-3625 goergen@nova.edu
Lopez -Padierna, Mauricio
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3634 lopezpad@nova.edu
Lord, Howard Kendall
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 hl329@nova.edu
Malarky, Lacey
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 lm1668@nova.edu
Marks, Alex
Title V- Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 am2919@nova.edu
McCorkle, Samantha
Research Assistant
Data Analyst, Broward County Sea Turtle Program
(954) 262-3672 sm1792@nova.edu
Miller, Cheryl
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3624 cm1532@nova.edu
Miranda, Valerie
Title V- Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 vm594@nova.edu
Nakama, Michael
Title V- Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 mn636@nova.edu
Noren, Hunter
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 hn170@nova.edu
Novy, Jessica
Research Assistant
Assistant Field Manager, Broward County Sea Turtle Program
(954) 658-8252 jn657@nova.edu
Pantranella, Allison
Research Assistant
Ramierez, Luis
Title V- Research Assistant
lr1031@nova.edu
Renegar, Abby
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3644 drenegar@nova.edu
Robinson, Judy
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3662 robinj@nova.edu
Roche, David
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3689 dr848@nova.edu
Ruck, Cassandra
Resarch Assistant
(954) 262-3700 cr1570@nova.edu
Santos, Allison
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 as2215@nova.edu
Saul, Steven
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 ssaul1@nova.edu
Slagle, Curtis
Research Assistant
Manager, Broward County Sea Turtle Program
(954) 383-2072 cs1858@nova.edu
Stocker, Joshua
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700

js2887@nova.edu

Taylor, Kristian
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3642 tkristia@nova.edu
Turner, Nicholas
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 nt325@nova.edu
Vollmer, Alicia
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 av685@nova.edu
Ware, Matthew
Research Assistant
(954) 262-3700 mw1336@nova.edu