Top of Page
Skip main navigation

Rho Rho

Nearly 90 Biology Students Inducted into National Honor Society

The NSU Chapter (Rho Rho) of the National Biological Honor Society (Beta Beta Beta or TriBeta) welcomed 89 new members at its annual induction ceremony held at the Performance Theatre at the Don Taft University on March 30, 2016.

TriBeta is dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study and extending boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research. To be eligible for membership, students must have a 3.2 GPA overall (3.0 GPA in the major) and have completed at least 45 credits toward their degree (including at least three biology courses).

The event was hosted by the academic honor society’s 2015-2016 executive board members, including president Lauren Arguelles, vice president Tamara Gali, secretary Sujay Kamisetty, treasurer Linda Kornienko, historian Ravin Patel, and faculty advisor Aarti Raja, Ph.D., assistant professor at the NSU Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanography.

Ceremony speaker Seth Tomchik, Ph.D., assistant professor at the Scripps Research Institute, shared his latest research in neuroscience as well as the process of conducting research.

The event was attended by students, family members, NSU and TriBeta alumni, faculty, and administration. Following the ceremony and a reception, the chapter elected a new executive board, including president Morgan Quarles, vice-president Abhaya Moturu, secretary Monica Singh, treasurer Ali Awad, and historian Geethu James.

During the ceremony, new inductees joined the officers in reciting TriBeta’s membership pledge and signing their names in the membership book, solidifying induction into the honor society.

Return to top of page